News Channels
Recent comments
News archive
Politics and Council news

Waste roadshows to travel the Cotswolds

A series of information roadshows are being held across the Cotswolds from next week to explain how and why Cotswold District Council’s waste and recycling service is changing.

The first roadshows will be held in the villages of Birdlip, Cowley and Coberley, next Monday (10th March). The first collections under the new service will then be made in those three villages next Tuesday (11th March) with the first collections across the rest of the District due to be made in late April.

Cllr Mark Tufnell, the Council’s Portfolio Holder for the Environment, said: “We believe that the changes we are making will reduce the amount of waste we send to landfill sites by up to a quarter.

“Council staff will be available at these roadshows across the District to explain the changes, which should mean a better service for us all.”

The new service will consist of:

  1. A new weekly collection of cooked and uncooked food in new food waste containers for composting
  2. An optional weekly garden waste collection service, which costs £30 per garden waste wheeled bin licence per year or £30 for a supply of 50 brown paper garden waste sacks
  3. A new fortnightly collection of card and cardboard in new reusable blue sacks for recycling
  4. The continuation of the current fortnightly collection of paper, glass, can and tins for recycling
  5. The collection of non-recyclable waste fortnightly, either in new grey wheeled bins or in Council-issued beige bin bags for those households that cannot accommodate a wheeled bin

Any residents who wish to dispose of any unwanted old plastic or metal dustbins will be able to bring them to one of the roadshows and Council staff will then take them away to be recycled.

The following roadshows have already been confirmed and more dates will follow:

  • Monday, 10th March: BIRDLIP, 9-10.15am (outside former Partridges Builders Yard, opposite the old post office); COWLEY Village, 10.45-11.45am (near public phone box); COBERLEY, 12.15-1.30pm (outside the village primary school)
  • Friday, 14th March: Brewery Car Park, CIRENCESTER, 9am-2pm
  • Saturday, 15th March: Waitrose, CIRENCESTER, 9am-2pm
  • Tuesday, 18th March: MORETON-IN-MARSH Market, 9am-3pm
  • Wednesday, 19th March: Forum Car Park, CIRENCESTER, 9am-2pm
  • Thursday, 20th March: High Street, BOURTON-ON-THE-WATER, 9am-1pm
  • Tuesday, 25th March: Market Place, LECHLADE, 9am-1pm
  • Thursday, 27th March: The Square, CHIPPING CAMPDEN, 9am-12.30pm;
    St Georges Hall, BLOCKLEY, 2-4pm
  • Friday, 28th March: Budgens, MORETON-IN-MARSH, 12-7pm
  • Wednesday, 2nd April: NORTHLEACH Market, 9am-3pm
  • Friday, 4th April: Tesco, STOW-ON-THE-WOLD, 12-7pm
  • Saturday, 5th April: Brewery Car Park, CIRENCESTER, 9am-2pm
  • Wednesday, 9th April: FAIRFORD Market, 9am-2pm
  • Thursday, 10th April: Farmers Market, STOW-ON-THE-WOLD, 9am-1pm
  • Friday, 11th April: Kingsmeadow Tesco, CIRENCESTER, 12-7pm
  • Saturday, 12th April: Brewery Car Park, CIRENCESTER, 9am-2pm
  • Tuesday, 15th April: MORETON-IN-MARSH Market, 9am-4pm
  • Thursday, 17th April: Tesco, TETBURY, 1-7pm
  • Saturday, 19th April: Budgens, MORETON-IN-MARSH, 9am-1pm
  • Tuesday, 22nd April: Market Place, LECHLADE, 9am-1pm
  • Friday, 25th April: Waitrose, CIRENCESTER, 12-7pm
  • Saturday, 26th April: Kingsmeadow Tesco, CIRENCESTER, 9am-1pm
  • Sunday, 27th April: BOURTON-ON-THE-WATER Farmers Market, 9.30am-1pm
  • Wednesday, 30th April: NORTHLEACH Market, 9am-3pm
  • Friday, 2nd May: The Square, CHIPPING CAMPDEN, 9am-12.30pm;
    St Georges Hall, BLOCKLEY, 2-4pm
  • Saturday, 3rd May: Tesco, STOW-ON-THE-WOLD, 9am-2pm
  • Wednesday, 7th May: FAIRFORD Market, 9am-2pm
  • Friday, 9th May: High Street, BOURTON-ON-THE-WATER, 9am-1pm
  • Saturday, 10th May: Tesco, TETBURY, 9am-1pm
  • Sunday, 11th May: Church Family Fun Day, St Michael's Park, CIRENCESTER, 1-5pm
  • Friday, 16th May: Kingsmeadow Tesco, CIRENCESTER, 12-7pm
    For more information on the new service, including up-to-date details of roadshow dates, visit www.cotswold.gov.uk or contact the Council’s Waste Hotline on 01285 623123

Source: Cotswold District Council

Related articles:

Roll out of new Cotswold waste service to begin in Birdlip, Cowley and Coberley
Cotswold gardeners urged to sign up for green waste service
Cabinet gives green light to Cotswold waste proposals

[...] articles: Waste

[...] articles: Waste roadshows to travel the Cotswolds Cabinet gives green light to Cotswold waste proposals Recycling boost for north Cotswold residents [...]

[...] articles: Waste

[...] articles: Waste roadshows to travel the Cotswolds Roll out of new Cotswold waste service to begin in Birdlip, Cowley and Coberley Cotswold gardeners [...]

[...] Waste roadshows to

[...] Waste roadshows to travel the Cotswolds Roll out of new Cotswold waste service to begin in Birdlip, Cowley and Coberley Cotswold gardeners urged to sign up for green waste service Cabinet gives green light to Cotswold waste proposals [...]

Other Politics and Council news
Cotswold Event Calendar
Event days are highlighted above. Click on a date to see events for that day.
News by Keyword